JT – “I’ll never stop playing music”

JT, a Phoenix local for 15 years, began playing music at age 7 when his mother enrolled him in piano lessons. In middle school he played the violin in the orchestra; and at age 13 he recalled “The exact moment I wanted to learn how to play the guitar…I walked into my class to get something I forgot and I heard the teacher’s son, who was in high school, playing some Nirvana songs on the classroom guitar. Right then and there I thought that was the coolest thing, to hear the music I listened to on the radio being played right before me by some kid not much older than me. After that I bought some guitar magazines, picked up my dads guitar and taught myself how to play.” And self taught JT has been playing ever since. 

What do you value most about music and performing?
The thing I value most about music is the absolute freedom of self-expression; there is endless avenues to explore and new experiences to enjoy. Performing is the pinnacle of all the hard work and practice, there is nothing better than experiencing your creativity at full volume while watching your audience move like puppets to the maestros every command.     
 
What genre of music do you play most? Has the character of your music changed since you first began playing?
My roots are rock/metal, but I have a wide range of genres, I also pull influences from blues, jazz, country, world, classical and even house/techno. Most of what I play have a rock/metal flavor, however I enjoy instrumentals where the music tells the story not the singer. When I first started playing guitar I was very narrow minded regarding my musical genres, I only played and listened to alternative hard rock and metal. As the years gone by I matured and so did my musical wisdom.  
 
COME BACK NEXT WEEK FOR MORE ABOUT JT!!
 “I’ll never stop playing music, it’s always going to be my passion.”
One thought on “JT – “I’ll never stop playing music”

Leave a Reply

